Skip to main content
IAABO Board 130
Pardon our appearance as we update

Welcome to Board 130


How to become a basketball official?







If you live in Essex County and are at least 18 years old, you are eligible.

IAABO has changed their process of offering in person classes, to offering the classes and exam online. 
By clicking on the button above you will be brought to the IAABOU registration website. 
The cost for the online course and exam is $75.  Once you pass the exam you will be eligible
to join our board (BD 130) for an additional fee of $125.

Please click this link for more information on the IAABOU program

If you don't live in Essex County, click the following link to find a Board in your area.

About Us

Board 130 was granted its charter from the International Association of Approved Basketball Officials on Nov. 15, 1951. 

Board 130 consists of more than 400 members who officiate basketball games from the grammar school level to the college level. 

We have active Membership and Development committees who work to ensure that our newer members be given every opportunity to improve their skills and advance their officiating careers.

We hope you find this website informative and helpful.

For more information about Board 130, contact us at

2024 Annual Banquet  



Roger Alley Award – Girls player.

Gabby Bellacqua, Pentucket Regional High School

Edward “
Gint” Middleton Award – Boys player

Zach Wolinski, North Andover High School

John Squires Sr. Award – Girl
s coach

Alan Hibino, Andover High School

Robert S. Pierce Award – Boys coach

Paul Tanglis, North Andover High School

Larry McIntire IAABO Board 130 Classic Scholarships

Abby Bettencourt, Peabody Veterans Memorial High School

Maeve O'Brien, Reading Memorial High School

Anders Littman, Gloucester High School

Luke McElhenny, Gloucester High School


James Young Courage Award

Jack Dean

Robert A. Gallagher Award – Sub-varsity official

Brendan Morris, Pat Lamusta

Charles S. Cook Award – Board 130 official

Rick McKenna

John J. Mulkern Award – Board 130 official

Tom Connelly


The Commonwealth Tournament - Rick Gorman & Rich Napolitano

Board 130 Member Information

2023-24 Dues:  Active Member: $75,   Associate Member: $50 (non-working official, at any level of play)

All Active Officials (working at any level) must meet the following criteria to be eligible to officiate:
1. Attend 1 Interpretation Meeting (we hold 3 per year, one in each month of Oct, Nov, Dec)
2. Pay their dues on or before the Dec 10th meeting (please note: email reminders are automated from the website until you have paid)
3. Attend a Refresher Exam meeting (dates listed below) or complete and submit the Refresher Exam (click this link) 
to Dan Bryant via email: or at the Fall Meetings
4. Attend 3 business meetings per year (the Interpretation meeting and the Refresher Exam meeting each count as a Business meeting)

Meeting Dates (click links for directions):
Interpretation Meeting, Sunday, Oct 22th, 10AM, North Andover High School

Interpretation Meeting, Wednesday, Nov 8th, 7PM, Salem State University
Interpretation Meeting, Sunday, Dec 10th, 10AM, North Andover High School
Business Meeting, Sunday, Jan 21st, 10AM, St John's Prep
Business Meeting, Sunday, Feb11th, 10AM, St John's Prep

Banquet, Tuesday, March 26st, China Blossom (North Andover)

2023-24 Interpretation meetings in Massachusetts (click here for list)

Refresher Exam Meetings (via Zoom) 

Monday, Nov 27th, 7PM (zoom link  to follow)
Tuesday, Dec 5th, 7PM (click here to register)
Click for copy of refresher exam

2022-23 Dropped Officials List 
Former members of our board that are no longer part of IAABO

List of Associate Members for 2022-23
Members on the Associate list are members of BD 130 and have chosen not to officiate games at this time

Order IAABO Gear

Blow Your Whistles (IAABO gear) is our primary supplier; you can order gear on their website or buy it at our December meeting:  Other contract information: or 203-261-3128

Contact Above the Shoulders (clarification):

For the 2012-13 season the NFHS Rules Committee issued a Point of Emphasis (POE) on contact above the shoulders.  The POE defined illegal contact from a moving elbow where such contact was above the shoulders as being either an intentional foul or a flagrant one.  This guidance regarding these play situations was provided in connection with the continuing emphasis on reducing concussions and decreasing excessive contact situations.  It also helped to bring the results of such plays in high school games more in line with what is defined at the NCAA and pro levels. For more information and examples (click this link)



3 Person Mechanics Presentation (Click this link)


Ejection Forms from MIAA Website: Student Ejection Form      Coach Ejection Form


Concussion Training Link:  Training Link

2024 Larry McIntire IAABO Board 130 Classic

at Marblehead High School



Sunday, Feb. 18

1 p.m. – GIRLS: Peabody 52 vs. North Andover 60

2:30 p.m. – GIRLS: Masconomet 46 vs. Reading 49

4:15 p.m. – BOYS: Gloucester 44 vs. Bedford 75

6 p.m. – BOYS: Marblehead 74 vs. Bishop Fenwick 67


Monday, Feb. 19

1 p.m. – Girls consolation - Masconomet 45 vs Peabody 47

2:30 p.m. – Boys consolation - Bishop Fenwick 45 vs Gloucester 59

4:15 p.m. – Girls championship - North Andover 27 vs Reading 40

6 p.m. – Boys championship - Marblehead 60 vs Bedford 64

2024 Larry McIntire IAABO Board 130 Classic Scholarship Recipients

 IAABO Board 130 is proud to announce the 2024 scholarship recipients from the Larry McIntire IAABO Board 130 Classic.

Larry McIntire, who passed away in 2020, was very proud of the scholarships and took great enjoyment watching the games, presenting the awards and scholarships and interacting with players, coaches, fans and, most important, officials at the tournament named for him.

IAABO Board 130 congratulates this year’s scholarship recipients, Abby Bettencourt (Peabody Veterans Memorial High School), Maeve O'Brien (Reading Memorial High School), Anders Littman (Gloucester High School) , and Luke McElhenny (Gloucester High School).
Abby, Maeve, Anders and Luke submitted outstanding applications for our scholarship, which is based on academics, athletics, community service, extracurricular involvement (non-sports) and a recommendation. Our board seeks to recognize the complete student-athlete and we are very pleased to honor these young adults.

We wish them the best in their college endeavors and look forward to having them at our annual banquet that will be held in March.


Elected Officials 2024-2025

Click on the board member's name for direct email


 President:   Andrew Chaban
 Vice President:   Rick McKenna
 Secretary/Treasurer:  Dan Bryant
 Rules Interpreter:  Bill "Boots" Boutilier
 Executive Board Chairman:     Bill Phillips

 Executive Board:

At Large 1: Mandy Lok Mano   
At Large 2: Brandon Sabina
At Large 3: Ryan Salvador
At Large 4: Bo Sao
At Large 5: Rich Napolitano
At Large 6: Pete Dion
At Large 7: Paul Halloran
At Large 8:                               Tom Burkinshaw  

IAABOU Coordinator:  David Margossian